Julie Bindel Statement on Withdrawing from Feminism In London

FYI

Caroline Criado-Perez

Julie’s blog is down, so she’s asked me to host her statement here — I think it’s brilliant and am honoured to publish it.

**********************************************************

I am very sorry that I feel I have no choice but to withdraw my contribution to the Feminism in London conference this year. It is particularly difficult for me to do so because FiL is one of the few feminist conferences that dare include me on their programme (in case of disruption from anti-feminists claiming I am transphobic, biphobic, Islamophobic and whorephobic). In fact, FiL had, in previous years, left me off the programme (but had me speak) in case the smooth-running of the conference suffered as a result.This year I told the organisers that I would only agree to speak at the event if my name were included in the programme, to which they agreed. It therefore feels particularly upsetting to find that…

View original post 580 more words

Leave a Reply

