UK pediatric transition referrals DOUBLE in SIX months, girls far outnumber boys, most under 10 years old

4thWaveNow

Scanning through my Twitter feed this morning, I nearly scrolled past this little news item tweeted by the Guardian:

According to a freedom of information response obtained by the Guardian, the number of children referred to the Tavistock has jumped from 314 referrals in 2012-13 to 697 referrals in 2014-15.In the last six months the service has seen a further increase in referrals with 634 children referred between April and September.

Children? LITTLE children:

Many of the referrals – 151 from 2012-13 to 2014-15 – relate to children under the age of 10, including one three-year-old and 12 four-year-olds.

Yesterday, I posted about a very recent research survey conducted by members of the Dutch team of clinicians who pioneered pediatric medical transition. They found that, worldwide, there is a growing sense of unease amongst clinicians working in child gender clinics. It is widely acknowledged that there is no long-term…

View original post 1,584 more words

Comments

  1. Susan Smyth says:

    Do we need sex selective abortion or female infanticide when little girls can transition?

    Like

    • It’s hard to tell from the outside how much of this is parentally driven and how much culturally driven. I never wanted to be a girl, specifically because I was repelled by what was culturally presented to me as “female,” but there was some of that going on inside my family too. It was less a matter of feeling I would be liked better if I was a boy than feeling I would not be liked in such a sexually heavy-handed matter.

      However girls “transitioning” to “boys” gets in the way of all that carrying on the family name routine. I don’t know what happens to these people in countries such as Iran, but I suspect the girls do not carry the same status as actual boys and men, though the boys may carry the same status as girls, all being seen as defective.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Susan Smyth says:

        Lucky for me, coming of age in the seventies in Quebec meant that most teenagers, girls and boys, had long hair and wore flannel shirts with work boots. As a young girl I wore boys’ hand me downs that were made in England. That shit never wore out, my English mum was happy about that. Mary Lou Singleton has expressed the current obsession/cult of gender so well. The stakes are higher and gender is indelibly codified. I am so troubled by how transitioning is harming girls and women.

        Like

      • Like

Leave a Reply

